Akashaya mantra

we are learning an Akashaya mantra at my Ashram.  This mantra has to do with the light of the world/consciousness.  When reciting the mantra I sometimes imagine a column of light coming up from the Earth (ascending from infinity).  The column goes right through my spine.  Also imagine the column descending from the sky.  Another visualization is spherical light emanating from heart center.  Other geometrical forms of light are imagined such as rays or discs.

One thing I realized about consciousness was its “illuminating” quality.  I tend to think of sound for example as coming towards me and then I perceive the sound.  But if you look at the illuminating quality of consciousness, it is actually the consciousness emitting outwards to perceive the sound.  The consciousness illuminates the object is perceives.  The illumination process is outward – coming from the center of being.

This entry was posted in Consciousness, EIL Program, Experiences During Meditation, Hinduism, Mantra. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment