Meditation: extreme joy, burning hands, ball of energy in chest

Had an interesting experience in class (maybe 1/3/2011).  I had done pranayama before class and maybe Yoga w/shavasana.  (Pranayama was alternate nostril and maybe kapalabathi).
In class I felt an extreme amount of Joy during the meditation.  At the time, I had been getting into the “zone” with anapanasati and Erhard’s meditation.  The joy was so much that I was almost “forced” to smile really big and laugh a little.  Also, felt a ball of energy in my chest at that time and my hands went from warm to hot, Prana flowing in torso, arms, hands.   It was unusual for me, and took my mind off of my breath.   I noticed that the joy felt a little manufactured and agitating.  A pleasant agitation.

After notcing the coarseness, the joy subsided.  For the rest of the week (maybe 5 or 6 days)  I was in a strange state – felt maybe like Prana and joy.  At that period of time I felt almost like if I wanted to, I could put myself back in that joyful state at any time (although in reality probably not – my intuition tells me it is not something I could have induced at will ).

Later I was trying to figure out what it was…maybe heart chakra or also maybe piti (a mental factor in Jhana and concentration.)  Also the fact it was in the group meditation probably has something to do with it.  Subsequently, I have noticed increased energy in the group meditations.

So that, along with where my interests have been going make me a little confused about chakra vs. Jhanic factors.  The way I understand it is the Jhanic factors are all “in your head” whereas chakra is in the body.  Jhana (and those mental factors) come about from levels of concentration.  Chakra energy is more to do with directing Prana in the body.  A work in progress for me.

That whole incident derailed me a little in my practice.  Things are settling down now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment